Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

Milford Teachers Honored as Jennings Fellows

Posted on: September 22, 2017
Milford's Jennings Fellows

The Martha Holden Jennings Foundation recently named 13 teachers in southwest Ohio a “Jennings Fellow.”  Four of the 13 teachers selected are Milford School District teachers.

Milford teachers selected as Jennings Fellows were honored at the September Board of Education meeting. They are: Heather Dingus,3rd grade teacher at Mulberry Elementary;  Michelle Thompson, 4th grade teacher at Mulberry Elementary; Amy Ossola, 3rd grade teacher at Pattison Elementary; and Jennifer Weiler, 1st grade teacher at Boyd E. Smith Elementary.

The highly-regarded distinction honors master teachers in select areas of Ohio each year. Candidates, who have been nominated by their superintendents, participate in the Jennings Educators Institute during the fall. A three-part professional development experience, the Institute encourages and supports teachers as they strive to improve their practice. Upon completing the series, participants can earn the designation “Jennings Fellow” by taking an additional step to immediately apply what they have learned. During the next several months, they design, implement, and document lessons incorporating ideas from the Institute under the guidance of university partners.

Since 1959, the Jennings Foundation has recognized teachers who demonstrate a commitment to further develop their own skills, to take action, and to reflect on those practices with their peers.

"These practices are the hallmarks of excellent teaching," shared Milford Superintendent, Nancy House, "We are incredibly proud that four of the 13 teachers in southwest Ohio are Milford School District teachers."