Side Menu Ends, main content for this page begins
Back to Side Menu (includes search)

2017 Dinner of Excellence Honorees

Posted on: April 28, 2017
photo of teachers

Each spring, the Milford-Miami Township Chamber of Commerce hosts the “Celebration of Excellence” event to honor scholarship recipients, business partners, classified staff, retirees and educators of the year from area schools. The awards celebration was held on Wednesday, April 26, at the Oasis Conference Center. 

“Our educators and staff members of the year reflect Milford School District’s number one core belief that children are at the center of everything we do, and our practice should reflect their best interests,” said Milford Superintendent Nancy House. “I am proud and grateful for the staff, students, retirees, and business partners who make our district soar.”

Congratulations to the following Milford Exempted Village School District staff, students, and business members were recognized. Click on the names of the educators, classified staff, business partners, and scholarship recipients to read more. Scroll down to see photos from the celebration.

2017 Educators of the Year                                                                                                      

Milford High School - Taryn Barker

Milford Junior High School - Renee Vander Veen

Boyd E. Smith Elementary - Jen Weiler

McCormick Elementary - Terry Flood

Meadowview Elementary - Rachel Sontag

Mulberry Elementary - Andrew Campbell

Pattison Elementary - Tracy Huggins

Seipelt Elementary - Christine Hutzel


2017 Classified Staff of the Year

Milford High School - Linda Gaible

Milford Junior High School - Jacci Varney

Boyd E. Smith Elementary - Carol Loving

Meadowview Elementary - Diane Moore

McCormick Elementary - Mary Deel

Mulberry Elementary - Walt Halvordson

Pattison Elementary - Jim Jones

Seipelt Elementary - Angie Cornwell

Milford Preschool - Joan Gottsacker


Scholarship Recipients:

Mary Ann Partin Memorial Scholarship-Lindsey Lawson                                    

Frontier Days Scholarship-Jacob Jaeger                                                               

Milford Miami Township Chamber Scholarship- Katilyn Hewitt                              

Herbie J. Shell Scholarship-Melanie Parker

Milford School Foundation- Amanda Lee

Park National Bank Milford-Amna Rustom       

Miami Township Police Association-Suzanne Bullock                                                           


Business Partner/ Don and Jean Ackermann Partners in Education

Athlete Instincts - Boyd E. Smith

Edward Jones - Joe Kuethe – McCormick Elementary

Herff Jones Company - Milford High School

Lowes - Milford PreSchool

RiverHills Bank - Pattison Elementary

Whiz Kids (Trinity Methodist Church) - Seipelt Elementary   


The following retirees were also recognized:

Board of Education

Cheryl Wilkins - 23 years


Milford High School   

Linda Gaible -13 years

Susan Galbraith - 12 years


Milford Junior High School

Mary Jane Brunk - 21 years

Raylene Gerber - 22 years

Alan Grothaus - 31 years

Pam Moore - 33 years

James Panko - 34 years

Annette Whitten - 23 years


Boyd E. Smith

Susan Shaw - 29 years



Connie Jennings - 22 years

Joan Lenczicki - 12 years

Jane Maxfield - 26 years

Joan Mell - 32 years



James Jones - 11 years

Jacqueline Slusher - 29 years


Extended Day

Ramona Fisch - 13 years

Lucinda Goodwin - 11 years

Patti Meyer - 24 years

Yvonne Tucker - 13 years